Monday, January 23, 2012

Newly redrawn Sixth Congressional District

After passing the Virginia State Senate with a 20-19 vote, the U.S. Congressional redistricting bill is headed to Governor Bob McDonnell's desk for his signature. It will then automatically go to the Justice Department to be sure it fits criteria for the Federal Voting Rights Act.

The lines have been redrawn for the Sixth Congressional District to the following:

All of Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Highland, Page, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, and Warren Counties; all of the Cities of Buena Vista, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Lynchburg, Roanoke, Staunton, and Waynesboro; part of Bedford County comprised of the Big Island Elem School (502), Boonsboro Elem School (505), Boonsboro Ruritan Club (506), Forest Elem School (401), Forest Youth Athletic Assoc. (304), Knights Of Columbus Bldg (403), Montvale Elem School (601), Odd Fellows Hall (504), Pleasant View (507), Sedalia Center (503), Suck Springs (704), and Thomas Jefferson Elem School (402) Precincts and part of the New London Academy (301) Precinct; and part of Roanoke County comprised of the Bonsack (402), Burlington (202), Castle Rock (305), Cave Spring (503), Clearbrook (505), Cotton Hill (501), Garst Mill (306), Hollins (206), Hunting Hills (507), Lindenwood (405), Mount Pleasant (406), Mount Vernon (506), Mountain View (203), North Vinton (403), Oak Grove (304), Ogden (504), Orchards (205), Penn Forest (502), Plantation (201), Poages Mill (302), South Vinton (404), and Windsor Hills (303) Precincts.

No comments: