Sunday, September 28, 2008

Republican State Central Committee officers re-elected....

Congratulations to the leadership of our State Central Committee who were re-elected to their positions at Saturday's quarterly meeting. Each candidate was to have someone give a two-minute nomination speech followed by one-minute seconding remarks ... but since there were no opponents and the meeting was running long, the officers were nominated and voted in as a slate with no speeches.

Vice Chairman Mike Thomas had asked that I second his nomination which was to be given by 3rd District Chair Mike Wade who would have talked about when Mike ran George Allen's 1993 campaign for governor and the endless time and effort he has put into the Republican Party of Virginia since that time.

My seconding remarks were going to be the following:
It is my honor to second Mike Wade's nomination of Mike Thomas as Vice Chairman of our State Central Committee.

Mike is an active member of the Chesterfield County Republican Committee ... and he is a fellow home school parent.

He is low-key and soft spoken ... but don't let that fool you because he is always there whenever anyone asks for his help ... whether it is Unit Chairman ... or the grassroots ... or Party leadership ... Mike is always there.

Mike loves the Commonwealth of Virginia as proven by his years of dedication ... and he loves his country, a love he passed along to his 18-year-old son, David. A 2007 home school graduate, David recently completed his basic training for the National Guard Reserve and may be going active soon.

I would like to thank Mike for his 25+ years of service to the Republican Party of Virginia.

And so I am honored to second this nomination of Mike Thomas as Vice Chairman of our State Central Committee.
After the meeting, Mike thanked me for being willing to second his nomination. No, Mike ... it is I who was honored to be asked by someone I admire within the Party.

State Central Leadership:

- National Committeewoman: Kathy Terry
- National Committeeman: Morton Blackwell
- First Vice Chairman: Mike Thomas
- Eastern Vice Chairwoman: Juanita Ballenger
- Eastern Vice Chairman: Kevin Gentry
- Western Vice Chairwoman: Trixie Averill
- Western Vice Chairman: Jim Hale
- Finance Chairman: Fred Malek
- Treasurer: Rick Neel
- Secretary: Polly Campbell

No comments: